2 Comments

My Top 10….Funeral For A Friend Songs

Funeral For A Friend for me are like a fine whiskey; the older they have gotten, the more mature and well developed they have become.

My addiction to FFAF came with the release of their album ‘Casually Dressed And Deep In Conversation’ released in 2003. For me it is a fantastic album that, in my opinion, they are yet to beat. ‘CDADIC’ is a post hardcore screamo fest, that in retrospect, they will most likely never will fully return to.

‘Hours’ for me sums up who FFAF are as a band today. It marked a considerable change in style for the band and filled me with amazement that they managed such a successful transition from a screamo dominated approach, to clean melodies.

Up to the present day, FFAF haven’t produced a ‘duff’ album. Whilst many claim ‘Tales Don’t Tell Themselves’ to be a weak album, for me it is a fantastic attempt at something different for the band, whom are not the obvious choice to have produced a concept album.

Both ‘Memory And Humanity’ and ‘Welcome Home Armageddon’ were both very strong albums for the band. With ‘Memory And Humanity’, the band built on the sound of ‘Hours’, but something was missing. For me it was the energy of both ‘CDADIC’ and ‘Hours’. Luckily however, ‘Welcome Home Armageddon’ recaptured that energy and even some of the screamo elements from the early years made a very welcome return.

Always a favourite band of mine here is, in no particular order, my top ten Funeral For A Friend songs:

1) This Year’s Most Open Heartbreak

2) Rookie Of The Year

3) Your Revolution Is A Joke

4) Streetcar

5) History

6) Waterfront Dance Club

7) Out Of Reach

8) Front Row Seats To The End Of The World

9) Juneau

10) Roses For The Dead

2 comments on “My Top 10….Funeral For A Friend Songs

  1. Never been a fan but I like your review 🙂

  2. I think that ‘Streetcar’ is amazing. It’s a masterpiece. It must be #1.

Leave a Reply

